2016 Comp. Winners

Warm greetings to all!

Congratulations to our 2016 “This is the Only Story I’ll Ever Tell” Competition Winners and abundant thanks to all who entered. The winning stories and poem are presented here for your enjoyment.

Please roll your mouse over document windows to reveal controls for reading each story or poem. Click boxes in upper right corners to view full document in new tab or window.

~    ~    ~

Fiction Category

First Place::Gabrielle Moticka

Second Place::Bill Mathis

Honorable Mention::Rachel Bradt

Poetry Category

Tricia’s poem was the only entry in this category, yet we wanted to note that it is exceptional and more than worthy of its first-place finish.

First Place::Tricia Wagner

About the contest: Entrants were tasked with writing a fictional story or poem that encompassed the theme of “the only story.”  They were encouraged to interpret the topic in creative ways. It could be the only story they, as the authors, would ever tell; it could be the only story a character would ever tell in their life or about a special topic–for example a grandfather sharing just one story with his grandson. Writers were to use their imagination but make it clear that it was somehow someone’s “only story.” (Please note that the published entries have received minor editing, with author approval, for punctuation, grammar, and sentence clarity.)

Write somethin'!